Windows 10: Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory?

Discus and support Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory? in Windows 10 Drivers and Hardware to solve the problem; I got some ECC memory sticks from a friend that he said he won't use anymore, alongside with two E5-2690 v2 and a dual socket motherboard from... Discussion in 'Windows 10 Drivers and Hardware' started by Minedark815, Jul 27, 2018.

  1. Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory?


    I got some ECC memory sticks from a friend that he said he won't use anymore, alongside with two E5-2690 v2 and a dual socket motherboard from Supermicro. I just want to know if Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) works with ECC memory and server board, I don't need full functionality but ECC.

    Also I assume this is devices topic, please change if it's wrong.

    :)
     
    Minedark815, Jul 27, 2018
    #1
  2. btarunr Win User

    PQI Announces Lineup of DDR3 Registered/ECC Server Memory Modules

    Power Quotient International (PQI) has released a series of DDR3 server memory modules in response to the advent of cloud computing. DDR3 Registered/ECC server memory modules are powerful additions to PQI’s Power Memory product range and symbolize the technical strength and product integrity of PQI memory modules for enterprise applications. DDR3 Registered/ECC server memory modules continuously undergo complete, complex, and rigorous integrity tests to provide both stable and compatible memory solutions that increase performance and ensure the stability of servers and workstations under year-round, high-speed data processing conditions.

    DDR3 Registered/ECC server memory modules consist of carefully selected, originally manufactured DRAM IC’s paired with PLL (Phase-Lock Loop) chips made by a well-known manufacturer, as well as high specification PCB’s, in order to achieve PQI’s main objective: high quality. In particular, the DDR3 1333’s 32GB/s (tri-channel mode) transmission bandwidth server memory module is capable of meeting the most demanding server environments and enhancing the overall performance of high-end computing systems.


    Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory? 139a_thm.jpg


    Furthermore, to accommodate different usage needs, the DDR3 Registered/ECC server memory modules adopts both 128x8 and 256x8 BGA configurations and provides 1GB, 2GB, 4GB and 8GB capacity selections, each of which has enough power satisfy the needs of high capacity servers. PQI is fully committed to upholding the principle of quality first; in addition to stringent burn-in tests, its server memory modules have also been verified in various mainstream server platforms such as Intel, Tyan, and Supermicro to ensure superior stability and compatibility.

    PQI DDR3 1333/1066 Registered-DIMM Specification:
    • Compatible Models: Servers/Workstations
    • Module Specifications: 240Pin Registered-DIMM with ECC
    • Module Configuration: 256x8、128x8
    • Capcity Selections: 1GB、2GB、4GB、8GB
    • Data Transfer Rate: 10,664MB/Sec (PC3 10660)、8,528MB/Sec (PC3 8500)
    • CAS Latency: 9-9-9-24/7-7-7-20
    • Working Voltage: 1.5V±0.075V
    • CB: 10/6 layer PCB
    • Warranty: Lifetime Warranty
    PQI Power DDR3 1333/1066 ECC-DIMM Specification:
    • Compatible Models: Servers/Workstations
    • Module Specifications: 240Pin Unbuffered-DIMM with ECC
    • Module Configuration: 256x8、128x8
    • Capcity Selections:1GB、2GB、4GB
    • Data Transfer Rate: 10,664MB/Sec (PC3 10660)、8,528MB/Sec (PC3 8500)
    • CAS Latency: 9-9-9-24/7-7-7-20
    • Working Voltage: 1.5V±0.075V
    • PCB: 6 layer PCB
    • Warranty: Lifetime Warranty
     
    btarunr, Jul 27, 2018
    #2
  3. Windows 10 Home to Windows 10 Pro Workstation?

    I would say you most likely don't need (or could even really benefit at all from) the workstation edition. Workstations one is for super heavy workloads. Microsoft describes it like this in their announcement about it.

    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations is a high-end edition of Windows 10 Pro, comes with unique support for server-grade PC hardware and is designed to meet demanding needs of mission critical and compute
    intensive workloads.

    Microsoft announces Windows 10 Pro for Workstations

    blogs.windows.com/business/2017/08/10/microsoft-announces-windows-10-pro-workstations/
     
    Shawn 'Cmdr' Keene [MVP], Jul 27, 2018
    #3
  4. Newmaven Win User

    Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory?

    Memory ID-ECC or non-ECC?


    I ran it and got a "3", so it's non-ECC.

    My workstation can take either ECC or non-, but not both at once. I think it came with ECC, but only 4GB worth.
     
    Newmaven, Jul 27, 2018
    #4
Thema:

Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory?

Loading...
  1. Does Windows 10 Pro (Not for workstation) supports server board and ECC memory? - Similar Threads - Does Pro workstation

  2. Does Microsoft support Windows 10 Pro OEM?

    in Windows 10 Updates and Activation
    Does Microsoft support Windows 10 Pro OEM?: Does Microsoft support Windows 10 Pro OEM? https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/does-microsoft-support-windows-10-pro-oem/0dd04265-ada9-48c5-ae14-7d2f782e3984"
  3. Windows 10 Pro for Workstations RDS support

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations RDS support: Does Windows 10 Pro for Workstations support simultaneous remote desktop sessions (RDS) as is found in Windows Server? https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/windows-10-pro-for-workstations-rds-support/a00f4ead-0f77-46a4-9fd8-2afd04011feb
  4. Versions of Windows 10 Pro for Workstations?

    in Windows 10 Support
    Versions of Windows 10 Pro for Workstations?: I recently learned of Windows 10 Pro for Workstations as version of Windows 10 geared toward very high-end workstation hardware. Then I happened to configure a Dell Precision 7820 Tower online, and I noticed that in the operating system section, it offers a choice of Windows...
  5. WINDOWS 10 PRO FOR WORKSTATIONS ACTIVATION

    in Windows 10 Installation and Upgrade
    WINDOWS 10 PRO FOR WORKSTATIONS ACTIVATION: I recently bought a Lenovo P51 mobile workstation which had a pre installed windows 10 pro for workstations key. Due to some software issues, i had to format my laptop and after a clean installation of windows 10 pro, I entered the original key that came in BIOS ( I had used...
  6. Memory ID-ECC or non-ECC?

    in Windows 10 Drivers and Hardware
    Memory ID-ECC or non-ECC?: I thought I had 16GB of RAM, but two of my four cards are only 1 GB. I'd like to replace them but I can't recall whether I have ECC or non-ECC RAM. Is there an easy way to check? 84376
  7. Does Server board(intel C612 chip) are suitable with Win10 Pro 64b OS?

    in Windows 10 Support
    Does Server board(intel C612 chip) are suitable with Win10 Pro 64b OS?: Hi Sir/Madam, Recently, my system having an issue is when I cold boot my system will hang at BIOS post screen, if leave it system for one mins the system will auto shutdown. But, if i change Win10 to Enterprise version this issue will not occur again, I just wonder does...
  8. windows 10 pro workstation when in store?

    in Windows 10 Support
    windows 10 pro workstation when in store?: Hello do anyone know when windows 10 pro workstation in store? i wold like to buy workstation of windows 10 pro 98403
  9. Windows 10 Pro for Workstation

    in Windows 10 Installation and Upgrade
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstation: Hello how can i downdload and install Windows 10 Pro for Workstation? 92534
  10. Upgrade Windows 10 Pro to Windows 10 Pro for Workstations

    in Windows 10 Tutorials
    Upgrade Windows 10 Pro to Windows 10 Pro for Workstations: Ah, it all makes sense now. I entered one of my Visual Studio Subscription Pro Workstation Keys on a Pro Install and got the Activate prompt. I hadn't ever remembered seeing it do that on a change product key before. Errored out on the first try though and said Windows didn't...