Windows 10: Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery?

Discus and support Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery? in Windows 10 Network and Sharing to solve the problem; Hi, a long time ago I had synced my pictures and documents to my OneDrive account. A few hours ago I wanted to delete some files from the OneDrive of... Discussion in 'Windows 10 Network and Sharing' started by ANGELOSGENTIKIS, Jul 2, 2019.

  1. Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery?


    Hi,

    a long time ago I had synced my pictures and documents to my OneDrive account. A few hours ago I wanted to delete some files from the OneDrive of my PC and the message "Deleting only-only items permanently removes them from your PC without sending them to the Recycle Bin. Are you sure you want to continue? " appeared. I clicked yes because I believed that the files would only be deleted from OneDrive and not from my computer. Now all these files are lost and I cannot even find them in the OneDrive Recycle bin. I somehow managed to recover all the items that have been synced. However , the ones that had not been synced are gone. Is there any way to restore them as well? Thank you in advance.

    :)
     
    ANGELOSGENTIKIS, Jul 2, 2019
    #1

  2. question on how to permanently delete files?

    Can some one tell me how to permanently delete files that i delete from the recycle bin.?
     
    Achilles1600, Jul 2, 2019
    #2
  3. Recover permanently deleted files

    If its files you really need, you may have to look into a file recovery service such as Kroll.

    It is important to regularly have a backup of the most important data. Also try to just hit delete, not permanently delete. I've been in the situation. I just put it in the recycle bin, I clear it out once a month or so. Extra step but its safer.

    Hope this helps.
     
    tamara_sadel, Jul 2, 2019
    #3
  4. Alden Rey Win User

    Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery?

    How to Disable Permanently Delete Files

    Hi Andrew,

    Whenever you delete a file or folder, Windows asks for your confirmation before moving it to Recycle Bin but Microsoft has removed this confirmation on some versions (Windows 8). Since you are using Windows 10, you can choose whether to have the file deleted
    permanently or not.

    If you also want to re-enable delete confirmation dialog, kindly the follow the steps below:

    • Right click on the Recycle Bin.
    • Click on Properties, untick the option Don't move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.
    • Click Ok to save the changes.

    For any concerns, don't hesitate to get back to us.

    Regards.
     
    Alden Rey, Jul 2, 2019
    #4
Thema:

Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery?

Loading...
  1. Deleting online-only files permanently from PC, Recovery? - Similar Threads - Deleting online files

  2. Recovery of deleted files

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Recovery of deleted files: Hi Everyone, It would be much appreciated if someone could help me with the following. Accidentally clicked on the Yes on the warning message below. "Deleting an online-only file permanently removes it from your PC without sending it to the Recycle Bin. Are you sure you...
  3. Recovery of permanently deleted folder - windows 10

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Recovery of permanently deleted folder - windows 10: Hi Everyone, I need some urgent help with the following. Accidentally clicked on the Yes on the warning message below. "Deleting an online-only file permanently removes it from your PC without sending it to the Recycle Bin. Are you sure you want to continue?" I have...
  4. Deleting an online-only file permanently

    in AntiVirus, Firewalls and System Security
    Deleting an online-only file permanently: Hi Everyone, I accidentally clicked on the yes on the warning message: "Deleting an online-only file permanently removes it from your PC without sending it to the Recycle Bin. Are you sure you want to continue?" I would like to know how to recover my deleted file?...
  5. recovery deleted file

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    recovery deleted file: how can restore deleted word file from recycle bin of windows 10 https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/recovery-deleted-file/9bbe6778-5c43-41e5-a026-2d92eddafd93"
  6. Files only delete permanently from folder mapped to drive letter

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Files only delete permanently from folder mapped to drive letter: Using win 10-64. I have a local folder mapped to a drive letter. I established the mapping by creating a registry key for the drive letter in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\DOS Devices Whenever I delete a file from that "drive" it...
  7. Permanently deleting files

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Permanently deleting files: I have a computer that all of the User accounts are ONLY able to delete files permanently, not move them to the Recycle Bin. I have checked the Recycle Bin settings and they should allow the files to be moved to the Recycle Bin before they are deleted permanently, but the...
  8. OneDrive permanently deleted my video files.

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    OneDrive permanently deleted my video files.: Long story short......tried uploading 500GB of video files to by 1TB account (didn't know about individual file size limit). Obviously, OneDrive did not upload most of the files. However, for some g'damn reason, it synced to my desktop (I never checked the box for this...
  9. Is there a way to delete permanently "recoverable" files

    in Windows 10 Performance & Maintenance
    Is there a way to delete permanently "recoverable" files: Hi, I recently deleted some files from the Recycle Bin that were not on my backup. Thankfully, I was able to recover these files. However, in doing so I noticed many GB of "recoverable files"... All of these files already exist on multiple backups so I would rather delete...
  10. Disable Permanently Delete Files confirmation

    in Windows 10 Support
    Disable Permanently Delete Files confirmation: I want to disable the Permanently Delete Files confirmation How i Can do that? 16392

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. deleting an online-only file