Windows 10: Cannot get the Join Domain option

Discus and support Cannot get the Join Domain option in Windows 10 Network and Sharing to solve the problem; I am an administrator and I did expose the hidden Administrator. When I go to Settings | About, I do not get the Join Domain option. Am I missing a... Discussion in 'Windows 10 Network and Sharing' started by rtcary, Feb 19, 2018.

  1. rtcary Win User

    Cannot get the Join Domain option


    I am an administrator and I did expose the hidden Administrator. When I go to Settings | About, I do not get the Join Domain option.

    Am I missing a step?

    Many thanks for any help...

    Todd

    :)
     
    rtcary, Feb 19, 2018
    #1

  2. Homegroup logic loop

    I am trying to join homegroup and not connected to a domain network. this is purely a network within my home, which, as laready stated, was working perfectly well until the update on the machine that originally created the homegroup. This is the machine
    which now tells me that I need to join the workgroup set up on that machine and will not accept the password.

    I have looked at the article and there is no option anywhere in homegroup to create, just the option to join. I occasionally get a message telling me that 'homegroup cannot be created on this machine' and this happens after atempting to join and 20 minutes
    of waiting for it to validate the password which was created on the machine telling me to join the homegroup that it cannot join/create. If that makes any sense
     
    annoyedinleeds, Feb 19, 2018
    #2
  3. Join domain option missing

    Excellent!
     
    LA Shawn Thompson, Feb 19, 2018
    #3
  4. NavyLCDR New Member

    Cannot get the Join Domain option

    Do you have Windows 10 Pro?
     
    NavyLCDR, Feb 19, 2018
    #4
  5. Samuria Win User
    Have you got a domain on the network?
     
    Samuria, Feb 19, 2018
    #5
  6. Bree New Member
    It's not in Settings > About.

    Only Pro (and above) can join a Domain, in Home the domain settings are either missing or greyed out. If you have Pro, see this tutorial.

    *Arrow Join Windows 10 PC to a Domain
     
  7. rtcary Win User
    I am running Windows 10 Pro with Samba implemented on a Red Hat (Centos 7) server. Unfortunately the Centos server had to be reinstalled due to an operator error, however my LAN was working before that and I use to see the Domain name on the Win 10 box (WEB01). Samba is using the same settings as before:

    # See smb.conf.example for a more detailed config file or# read the smb.conf manpage.# Run 'testparm' to verify the config is correct after# you modified it.[global] workgroup = WEB01 security = user passdb backend = tdbsam printing = cups printcap name = cups load printers = yes cups options = raw

    I cannot find where to verify or setup the WEB01 Domain on the Win 10 computer.

    Todd
     
    rtcary, Feb 19, 2018
    #7
  8. Bree New Member

    Cannot get the Join Domain option

    At you sure you were using a Domain before? See if setting the Workgroup puts you back where you were.

    Change Workgroup in Windows 10
     
  9. rtcary Win User
    I believe you are correct about not being a Domain - I am not running a Domain Controller (like I did a long time ago). So I have managed to tie myself up in a knot with getting the Samba on the Centos 7 set up correctly as well as the Windows 10 Pro. Are there some diagnostics I can run on the Win box that can help me get an idea of what is preventing me from "seeing" the Centos 7? The list is long: security on either the Centos or Windows, improper setup on either and many more.


    Cannot get the Join Domain option [​IMG]

    Many thanks for you patience...

    \rtc
     
    rtcary, Feb 19, 2018
    #9
  10. Bree New Member
    Looks like all you need to do is set the PC to be in the WEB01 Workgroup as described in this tutorial. It's in the WORKGROUP workgroup at present, which is why you don't see the server.

    Change Workgroup in Windows 10
     
  11. rtcary Win User
    Still trying to work through it...have the WorkGroup set to WEB01. No doubt some little things, as it always it.

    Todd
     
    rtcary, Feb 20, 2018
    #11
  12. Bree New Member
  13. rtcary Win User

    Cannot get the Join Domain option

    I checked and the SMB's were already selected, however I checked and unchecked them and when I closed the screen,, Windows did fetch something from the Internet and did a restart. However there is still not a connection.

    In an effort to trigger an error, I tried mapping \\centos7\html which I got. Though the Centos 7 gurus have looked at my settings for Samba, I think I'm missing some thing. Here is the error:


    Cannot get the Join Domain option [​IMG]

    My Mac can "see" the Windows 10.
     
    rtcary, Feb 20, 2018
    #13
  14. rtcary Win User
    Now I really did something bad! Somehow I changed the permissions for C: drive and now I cannot access it...not even in the Administrator login. Am I permanently locked out? When I saw that the C: drive was accessible by the Mac, I must have incorrectly changed the permissions for NUC\users that effect Admin login's. Damn!
     
    rtcary, Feb 20, 2018
    #14
  15. Bree New Member
    You should never really need to change permissions for the root of the C: drive, it shouldn't be available as a share to connect to. For sharing purposes, subfolders are the ones that are shared. Permissions on these can be changed, as needed.

    Try to reset the permissions on the root of C:\ back to their standard settings. Note that some of the Authenticated Users permissions are for 'This folder only', while others are for 'Subfolders and files only' (hopefully you haven't changed those and won't need to reset them).

    You may need to 'Change Owner' and take ownership to be able to set permissions. If so, it is absolutely essential to change it back to TrustedInstaller as soon as you are done. You'll need to use the full name of TrustedInstaller, which is NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller
    Change Owner of File, Folder, Drive, or Registry Key in Windows 10

    These are the standard permissions, as seen on my C:\ drive...


    Cannot get the Join Domain option [​IMG]
     
Thema:

Cannot get the Join Domain option

Loading...
  1. Cannot get the Join Domain option - Similar Threads - Cannot Join Domain

  2. Client cannot join domain domain Windows Server 2008 R2

    in Windows 10 Installation and Upgrade
    Client cannot join domain domain Windows Server 2008 R2: Hello Team,My customer have active directory on windows server 2008 R2- His windows server shutdown by electric power off- After Electric on then he start windows active directory on windows server 2008 R2- Normal the active directory - But new client unable to join the...
  3. Joining the pc to domain issues

    in Windows 10 Customization
    Joining the pc to domain issues: Hi In our company ,when we join the pc to domain then user login with is credentials getting error that search & windows option is not getting and after restart the pc getting error black screen.please let me know solution for this....
  4. Joining a Domain

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Joining a Domain: I'm trying to join a domain that resides on my Synology NAS. When trying to join the domain I'm getting the following message: [ATTACH] I've also tried joining the domain using the "Network ID" button and I get the following message: [ATTACH] I'm running Windows 10...
  5. Can same PC have domain-joined and non-domain-joined accounts?

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Can same PC have domain-joined and non-domain-joined accounts?: Can the same PC have one account set up that's domain-joined (to work), and another personal account that's NOT domain-joined? I'm guessing the answer is more likely no, since domain seems to be a machine-level and not an account-level setting. What I'd like to be able to...
  6. "Join a domain" option missing?

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    "Join a domain" option missing?: We are moving from a Win7 fleet to Win10 (pro). We have encountered an issue where we are unable to connect to our domain with the new PCs. From what I understand, under Settings>system>about there should be a "join a domain" option. This option does not exist for us, and...
  7. Domain Joining error

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    Domain Joining error: Hai all I am Sumesh I have a problem for joining to my company domain ,if we trying to join a new win10 PC to domain its showing the below error Our Server is win2008 R2 and this system is win 10 pro 64bit please help me to solve this issu...
  8. Unable to get computer to join domain through WDS

    in Windows 10 Installation and Upgrade
    Unable to get computer to join domain through WDS: Hello, Recently, I have implemented WDS within my workplace to get away from Configuration Manager (As crazy as this might sounds), the reason being is to help streamline and reduce the time it takes to image a single machine and also to decrease the amount of post...
  9. Unable to join client to Domain

    in Windows 10 BSOD Crashes and Debugging
    Unable to join client to Domain: Hi Im setting up a brand new network and keep getting this error when trying to join computers to the network Please Help??!!! Been at this for 2 weeks still no head way te: This information is intended for a network administrator. If you are not your network's...
  10. cannot join domain on server 2003

    in Windows 10 Network and Sharing
    cannot join domain on server 2003: Hi all, since Microsoft released 1803 version of Windows 10, I am not able to join domain on SBS 2003 (single label). On June 2018 some updates was released in Win10 1709 and since then it is not possible to connect to domain too. The only solution is clean installation of...